Wednesday, June 09, 2010

The Go's Bobby Harlow Produces New York Artist for Upcoming August 24th Release

Neil Nathan Shows Love for Detroit with Upcoming Album Produced by Bobby Harlow of The Go

It's safe to say that New York City's Neil Nathan is a fan of Detroit music and he's also a lifelong supporter of the Tigers. So it was only natural for the guitar man to travel to Detroit Rock City to record his debut LP, The Distance Calls, set for release August 24th, 2010. Nathan reached out to Bobby Harlow, a member of the seminal Detroit garage-rock group The Go (Jack White appeared on their Sub Pop release) to produce. “Bobby Harlow is absolutely one of my favorite singer/songwriter/producers,” gushes Nathan. So to the “D” he went where Harlow assembled some of the Motor City’s finest rock musicians as Nathan’s backing band. The all-star lineup included Dean Fertita (The Dead Weather, QOTSA), Kenny Tudrick and Joey Mazzola (Detroit Cobras), John Krautner (The Go), and Ross Westerbur (Deadstring Brothers).
With a dash of NYC glitter and a Detroit fuzz and stomp, The Distance Calls effortlessly mingles jangly pop rock with Nathan’s mellower singer/songwriter side, showcasing a musician clearly influenced by the ‘70s, without being overtly obvious. Some may sneak up on you, but every song leaves you with a catchy chorus. His love of iconic ‘70s music couldn’t be clearer than his folky version of Electric Light Orchestra’s “Do Ya.” Impressed by Nathan’s version, mega ELO man Jeff Lynne gave it his blessing for inclusion on Showtime's Californication Soundtrack. Nathan’s music has also appeared in the Rosario Dawson (Nathan’s former roommate, who also guest stars in his music video for “California Run”) film Descent.

Matthew Sweet, Cat Stevens, and Detroit stomp come to mind on The Distance Calls while remaining distinctly Nathan. There are few musicians out there that can pull off this kind of disparity in their sound, but Nathan and Harlow (who also sings on one of the tracks) succeeded.

Nathan credits Harlow for merging the songs into a coherent album and helping reel in his diverse musical qualities, which all begin with an acoustic guitar and a voice. With the addition of Harlow’s production and the musicians backing him, Nathan now has a powerful collection of songs to stand the test of time. After a few EPs, The Distance Calls is finally the album Nathan wanted to make. “It really showcases the style of songs I like to write; from hard rock to folk to countrified rock to garage to power pop,” he says. "We really wanted to create a varied listening experience that had an underlying emotional depth that is rare on modern rock records.” Neil Nathan is an electric warrior with a softer side.

The Distance Calls Track Listing
1. Do Ya
2. California Run (free mp3)
3. When the Rain Falls
4. Highways (free mp3)
5. So Much More
6. Get On
7. Don't Walk Away
8. Disappear
9. Never Enough
10. Too Late
11. Eyes Wide Open
12. Sweet Darlin'
13. Better Be Goin'
14. Far Off

No comments:

Post a Comment