Monday, February 07, 2011

The Morning Birds To Release The Quickening April 26, 2011

When you get out of your own way and let ideas flow, there is no limit to the things you will create. LA’s The Morning Birds, masters of synthesizing influences and inspiration, are following this philosophy and reaping the rewards. The duo’s second LP, The Quickening, out April 26, aims to pass that inspiration on to listeners worldwide with passionate, soulful and uplifting songs.

The Quickening is a study in the power of contrast. While forming an uncanny mixture of sounds that embrace unlikely sources, the band’s sound is both familiar and mysterious, groovy yet mellow, profound but fun. It is often times ground breaking. Their powerful bass lines, lush harmonies and soulful strings are complimented by break beats, trumpets, and cascading keys while Jennifer Thorington and Samuel Markus’ vocals unfold into a gentle blend as if Imogen Heap met Andre 3000.

There’s no place like home, especially to explore your creativity, and The Morning Birds are lucky enough to be able to work out of theirs. “It’s peace on earth and our own little heaven and outstanding creative space.” That is how Jennifer Thorington describes their amazing home. With an amazing view of the mountains outside of LA, a temple next door and a freestanding music studio, it’s the perfect place to create an album like The Quickening. They say of the process, “Sam opened up to embrace more of his creativity and Jenn has evolved as a writer and singer and has had equal creative input in all aspects of the songwriting and recording processes.”

The Quickening Track List

1. My Own Little World
3. Soar
4. Oh Yeah! (Feat Trevor Hall)
5. Smart So
6. Hearts Desire
7. Resonance
8. Shasha
9. A Make, Her Aid
10. Rose Horses
11. Sunset Drive Feat. Kieran Blake
12. Embers of Your Love
13. It's Then You'll Know
14. Springtime
15. Take Control
16. Be Gentle to Your Mind
17. De Light
18. The Gospel Song
19. Dylan Thomas
20. Understanding
21. Blue Moon
22. WooHoo


  1. Anonymous12:21 PM

    Love these guys!!

  2. Thebombdotcom10:06 PM

    Take note people! This album is going down in history

  3. Anonymous10:08 PM

    take it away guys. itsyours