Friday, February 26, 2010

No Second Troy Release Colors on April 27th

Washington DC's No Second Troy teeters on the edge of anthemic-influenced indie rock, rich in explosive vocal melodies, driven by railing guitars, and balanced by subtle layers of piano and Hammond organ, when they release Colors on April 27th.

While many of the band’s songs touch on relationships, past and present, related and romantic, No Second Troy originated as the title of a William Butler Yeats poem. The song "The Black and White Movie" references parts of the poem and reveals a thematic overlap in its lyrics. Like the poem, the band's lyrics at times seek a release from past relationships, even to the extent of apologizing on behalf of the person who caused the emotional injury. Mike Beach explains, "'The Black and White Movie' is an acknowledgment that we overanalyze our relationships and foolishly seek the perfection we see in Hollywood movies, thereby having our relationships fall into one of two categories - bliss or something inadequate – in other words, viewing the world as a black and white movie and failing to see all the colors and nuances."
No Second Troy garnered praise from SPIN while charting on the CMJ Top 200 on their last record, Narcotic. On the upcoming release, Colors, the band was led to Inner Ear Studios where they worked with Chad Clark of Silver Sonya Studios (Fugazi, Q & Not U, Georgie James), TJ Lipple and Nick Anderson to produce and engineer the record. Lead singer Jeff Wharen notes, "We really liked Chad and TJ"s vision of capturing the band’s sound at its most authentic – moving away from digital editing and auto-tuning, while recording drums and bass on tape, and encouraging the band to just sound like itself, rather than trying to sound like something we think might be a critical success. We also liked Chad's commitment to mixing the songs based on what they were about – pairing the aesthetics of the musical and the lyrical."

Colors Track Listing
1) Colors
2) Grounded
3) The Black and White Movie
4) Leap of Faith
5) Casting Agent
6) Wake Up
7) This is the End of Me
8) Let it Go
9) Surfacing
10) The Argonaut
11) Golden Age
12) The Fountain

Download or post the free mp3 of "This is the End of Me"